SAPPC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

SAPPC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The current public CDSE handbook does not state a fixed numerical pass mark, so no pass percentage should be assumed.
  • Scoring is dichotomous: one point per correct scored answer, zero for wrong or unanswered questions.
  • The exam has 110 questions, but only 74 count; you cannot tell which 36 are unscored.
  • Information Security (31%) and Personnel Security (28%) together carry 59% of the exam blueprint.

Why There Is No Published Pass Mark

Search for the "SAPPC passing score" and you will find plenty of confident numbers. Be skeptical of them. For the Security Asset Protection Professional Certification (SAPPC), the public source of record is the CDSE-administered DOD Professional Certification and Credentialing Handbook (August 2026 version). That handbook describes how the assessment is scored, but the reviewed public text does not state a fixed numerical pass mark, such as a specific number of correct answers or a percentage.

Do not trust invented cut scores: Any website claiming a precise SAPPC pass percentage without citing the CDSE handbook is guessing, or worse, borrowing numbers from a different credential that shares the same acronym. Plan your preparation around mastery of the content areas, not around a magic percentage.

This matters practically. If you set a personal target like "I only need to get 70% right," you may under-prepare for an assessment whose actual threshold you cannot verify. The safer approach is to aim for strong command of every area of expertise, with extra depth where the exam blueprint places the most weight. For a broader look at how demanding the assessment is, see our guide on how hard the SAPPC exam is.

How SAPPC Scoring Actually Works

What the handbook does make clear is the scoring mechanism. SAPPC uses dichotomous scoring, meaning each scored question is either right or wrong, with one point awarded per correct scored answer. There is no partial credit and, importantly, no penalty beyond losing the point.

Scoring FeatureWhat It Means for You
Dichotomous scoringEach scored item is simply correct or incorrect; no partial credit
One point per correct scored answerYour raw score is the count of scored questions answered correctly
Unanswered questionsMarked incorrect, so a blank is never better than a guess
Unscored questions36 of the 110 items do not count, but you cannot identify them
Fixed numerical pass markNot stated in the reviewed public handbook; do not assume one

Because unanswered questions are marked incorrect, the right habit is simple: answer every question. If you are unsure, eliminate the options you know are wrong and choose the best remaining answer. Leaving an item blank guarantees zero points on it, while a reasoned guess gives you a chance.

The 74 Scored Questions Hidden in 110

The SAPPC assessment delivers 110 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours and 15 minutes. Of those, 74 are scored and 36 are unscored. The unscored items are typically used to evaluate questions for future exam forms, and candidates are not told which is which.

Two practical consequences follow:

  • Treat every question as if it counts. A question that feels strange or unusually obscure might be an unscored trial item, but you cannot know, so never skip effort based on a hunch.
  • Do not let one confusing item rattle you. With roughly one-third of the exam unscored, encountering a few puzzling questions is normal and not necessarily a sign you are failing.

The format mixes stand-alone questions with scenario-associated questions. Scenario items present a short situation, such as a facility, a clearance action, or a classified-information handling problem, followed by one or more questions that require you to apply security policy rather than recite a definition. Practicing with applied scenarios is far more valuable than flashcard memorization alone. Our SAPPC study guide covers how to build that scenario fluency.

Domain Weights: Where Points Come From

Since the pass mark is not published, the single most useful quantitative tool you have is the official area-of-expertise weighting. The handbook calls these SAPPC Areas of Expertise, and the weights below come directly from that source.

DomainWeight
Information Security31%
Personnel Security28%
General Security18%
Industrial Security13%
Physical Security10%

Information Security (31%)

The heaviest area. Expect questions on the full lifecycle of protecting classified and controlled information.

  • Information Security Fundamentals
  • Classification and Declassification Concepts
  • Classification Management
  • Information Protection Requirements
  • Cyber for Security Professionals

Personnel Security (28%)

The second-largest area, focused on who may be trusted with access and how that trust is established and maintained.

  • Personnel Security Fundamentals
  • Personnel Security Standards

Information Security and Personnel Security together account for 59% of the blueprint. A candidate who is excellent in those two areas but weak elsewhere can still struggle, because General Security (18%), Industrial Security (13%), and Physical Security (10%) together still make up 41% of the exam. The goal is balanced competence with a deliberate tilt toward the heavy areas. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, read the complete guide to all 5 SAPPC content areas.

Weighting is not a shortcut: Because the exam is a single assessment with no stated per-domain minimum in the reviewed public source, you should not write off Physical Security just because it is the smallest area. Ten percent of an exam is still a meaningful slice of the points available.

Pass Rate Context for 2026

When the passing score is not published, pass-rate data becomes the best available reality check on difficulty. CDSE's Certification Tracker reports two period-specific figures for SAPPC:

PeriodDeliveredPassedPass Rate
CY-202526011343.46%
June 2026161062.5%

Read these carefully. The CY-2025 figure reflects a full calendar year with a meaningful sample, and it shows that fewer than half of delivered assessments resulted in a pass. The June 2026 figure comes from only 16 delivered assessments, so a single month with a small group can swing dramatically and should not be treated as a trend or a lifetime rate. Both are official program statistics, but they describe specific periods rather than a permanent pass rate. We break down how to interpret them in our article on the SAPPC pass rate and what the data shows.

The takeaway: a sub-50% annual pass rate means preparation is not optional, even for experienced security practitioners. SFPC holders already understand foundational security concepts, but SAPPC tests deeper application across all five areas.

Managing 2 Hours 15 Minutes

With 110 questions in 135 minutes, you have roughly 74 seconds per question on average. That is a comfortable pace for definition-style items but tighter for scenario-associated questions that require reading a situation first.

  1. First pass: Answer everything you can resolve quickly. Do not linger past about a minute and a half on any single item.
  2. Flag and move: Mark uncertain questions and return to them after completing the full set.
  3. Final sweep: Confirm that no question is left unanswered, since blanks are marked incorrect.

Remember that you cannot tell which questions are unscored. Spending ten minutes agonizing over one item is a poor trade when it might not even count and when the same time could secure several easier points elsewhere.

A Domain-Ordered Study Sequence

SAPPC is training agnostic, meaning no prescribed course is required before you sit for the assessment. CDSE offers Competency Preparatory Tools through STEPP and identifies D-SEBOK as an additional foundation resource, so build your plan around those materials plus scenario practice. Here is one sequence that follows the exam weights:

Weeks 1-2

Information Security (31%)

  • Classification and declassification concepts and classification management
  • Information protection requirements
  • Cyber for Security Professionals topics
Weeks 3-4

Personnel Security (28%)

  • Personnel security fundamentals
  • Personnel security standards and how they apply in scenarios
Week 5

General Security (18%) and Industrial Security (13%)

  • Cross-cutting security program concepts
  • Contractor and industrial security responsibilities
Week 6

Physical Security (10%) and Full Review

  • Physical security measures
  • Timed practice sets across all five areas to rehearse the 110-question pace

Front-loading the two heaviest areas means you build the deepest knowledge where the exam rewards it most, then use the final week to expose gaps under timed conditions. Our one-page SAPPC cheat sheet is a handy final-week review aid, and you can pressure-test your readiness with timed questions on the SAPPC practice test site.

Key Takeaway

Because no fixed pass mark is published, define "ready" as consistently strong performance across all five areas on realistic timed practice, not as hitting an arbitrary percentage you found online.

After You Pass: Validity and Renewal

Passing is not the end of the obligation. The certification is valid for two years. To maintain it, you must keep an active DAU certification account and earn at least 100 professional development units (PDUs) during the two-year maintenance period. Build that expectation into your career planning from day one rather than scrambling near the deadline.

Eligibility also deserves a careful read before you invest in preparation. SFPC certification is required before pursuing SAPPC, and general SPēD eligibility applies to eligible DOD personnel, federal employees of participating agencies, and qualifying contractors performing security functions. Details are in our SAPPC requirements and eligibility guide. If you are weighing the career payoff, our analysis of whether the SAPPC certification is worth it covers the professional value, and the SAPPC certification cost breakdown explains what the public sources do and do not say about fees; notably, the current CDSE handbook and resources reviewed do not state a public candidate exam fee, so no figure should be assumed. Testing is delivered through Pearson VUE, and scheduling specifics are in our SAPPC exam dates and scheduling guide.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the SAPPC exam?

The current public CDSE handbook describes dichotomous scoring with one point per correct scored answer, but the reviewed public source does not state a fixed numerical pass mark. Any specific percentage you see elsewhere is not confirmed by that source.

How many SAPPC questions actually count toward my score?

Of the 110 multiple-choice questions, 74 are scored and 36 are unscored. Candidates are not told which questions are which, so you should answer every item carefully.

Should I guess if I do not know an answer?

Yes. Unanswered questions are marked incorrect, and the scoring awards one point per correct scored answer with no stated deduction for wrong answers. Eliminate clearly wrong options and select the best remaining choice.

Which SAPPC area matters most for passing?

Information Security is the largest area at 31%, followed by Personnel Security at 28%. Together they make up 59% of the exam, though General Security (18%), Industrial Security (13%), and Physical Security (10%) still contribute substantially.

Is the SAPPC exam hard to pass?

CDSE reported a 43.46% pass rate for CY-2025 (113 of 260 delivered) and 62.5% for June 2026 (10 of 16 delivered). The June figure comes from a very small sample, so the full-year number is the more reliable indicator that thorough preparation is needed.

Ready to pass your SAPPC exam?

Put this into practice with free SAPPC questions across every exam domain.